It’s a Mustard Yellow

We painted our dining room shortly before Christmas.  Before then it was a bright yellow and we both hated it.  We decided on a more golden, mustard yellow.  The painting went fast with Ben rolling the ceiling and walls and myself doing the edging.  For now, we have kept the same curtains.  We moved the bookcase from the living room into the dining room.  We still need to purchase a light and frame some prints we have collected over time, but we are making progress.

I'm just trying to keep these babies alive until spring/summer.  The cold temps in our house have not been kind.

I’m just trying to keep these babies alive until spring/summer. The cold temps in our house have not been kind.

The prints Ben purchased for me when we were in Savannah.

The prints Ben purchased for me when we were in Savannah.

The shelves were given to us by our old neighbors when they moved.   They hold css, candles and cookbooks

The shelves were given to us by our  neighbors before they moved. They hold our cds, candles and cookbooks.  They also hold our nature collections – stones, antlers, shells, etc.

We bought this at the Thornville Country Fair.  We bought this at the Thornville Country Fair.

I think the bookcase fits in pretty well with the room.

I think the bookcase fits in pretty well with the room.  The color of the wall in this picture is off.  It was difficult to capture the actual color.

We plan on hanging the tv above the mantle.  I hate this, but I have been outvoted on the decision to remove it.  The basket holds all the prints we still need to frame for the room.

We plan on hanging the tv above the mantel. I hate this, but I have been outvoted (4-1) on the decision to remove it. The basket holds all the prints we still need to frame for the room.

I think the layout works well for the family and I am so glad we purchased the extended table last year from Ikea. It’s the perfect size, especially when we have family and friends over for dinner.

2 thoughts on “It’s a Mustard Yellow

  1. love the new color of the walls, and boy you have lots of shelves, I’m envious! You can never have too many shelves or books. I would lose a vote here to get rid of a tv as well.

Leave a Reply

