and the ground was finally white…

Yesterday afternoon a shift in the air finally took place and snow began to fall.  I watched excitedly from my office window.  The kids were home with Ben, off for a snow day.  They didn’t believe me at first when I said there was no school.  Looking out the window they saw only rain, not a flake of snow in sight.  Since the storm was supposed to start mid day schools were extra cautious and cancelled instead of dealing with an early release.  At about 1:00 flakes slowly started falling and before long they were sticking to the sidewalks and rooftops. Layer after layer of white began to cover the ground, everything looks clean covered in a fresh blanket of snow.  Our office closed early and once home I snapped some pictures of the kids in the backyard.

Today, as I type this, I hear the dripping of the icicles as the warmth of the sun shines through the window.     Tomorrow we are expected to receive some freezing rain (a part of winter I could do without).  On the agenda for the rest of today is grocery shopping.  I was told the renovated Kroger not far from us has a lot of gluten-free options.  A quick swing by there to see what they have and then on to Whole Foods. I may try to squeeze in a trip to the yarn store.  I have two scarves to make before Christmas.  I hope you enjoy your Saturday.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

photo 4

One thought on “and the ground was finally white…

  1. beautiful photos, and we had the snow/rain routine here a few days ago. I stayed inside. Today it’s been snowing off and on all day long and it’s been beautiful to look at 🙂

Leave a Reply

