Surprise gift

I received a surprise gift in the mail a couple of days ago.  My uncle sent me a bronze paperweight that is now sitting proudly on my desk.  The quote says, “Either write something Worth Reading or Do Something Worth Writing.” I have several things that I have written over the years.  I’m not sure they’re worth reading but maybe someday I will share with others.  On the subject of writing, I have several diaries from when I was younger and although I haven’t written in them since my high school years, I still like the idea of collecting thoughts and feelings in one place to preserve.  In a way this is my diary now, I don’t put all my hopes and fears here, but there are glimpses.  It makes me very happy to report that Vita has begun keeping a diary.  One that she hides under her mattress and writes in while hunching over so no one can see.  She tightly grips her pencil and stops every once in a while to gather her thoughts before furiously scribbling them on the paper.  I see myself in her at these moments.  A girl who gets excited about a new journal, sharpened pencil and a pretty ribbon to bookmark my page.  There is something wonderful about putting words on paper.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERABook No. 4

The Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats

My favorite line from the book is “It was a stick – a stick that was just right for smacking a snow-covered tree.”

After all there is nothing like standing under a tree covered in snow and smacking a stick on the branch as the snow falls all around you.

Leave a Reply

