A Party and the Thornville Country Fair

On Saturday we got into town early so we stopped by my sister’s new place to visit.  Then we headed to Thornville to celebrate Ben’s uncle’s 60th birthday.  Once at the party, all the little kids got to play together and run around like hooligans.  Despite some rough housing nothing was broken and there were no injuries, so it was a success!  Right before we left for the night we watched lanterns being lit and set off into the sky.   The kids were convinced it was going to get caught in a tree and catch on fire but it sailed away without incident.

Cousins sitting still long enough for a photo!

Cousins sitting still long enough for a photo!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sunday morning we woke up and headed to the main streets in Thornville for the Country Fair.  In past years I have had a booth with my mother-in-law and didn’t really shop much, this year was different.  We walked through the crowds and kept making lefts until we had seen everything.  There was a lot of Ohio State crafts and a lot of reclaimed wood turned into items like bird houses and signs.  The kids each had some Halloween money from their Uncle to spend.  Vita bought a princess crown and a cute cat doll.  Isabella bought a princess crown and Blackburn bought a wooden frog, pull toy.  Ben and I purchased a couple of items.  A very heavy quilt, an afghan for Isabella’s bed, a wooden Halloween sign and a small wood crow block.  Ben was wavering on an Israeli issued gas mask and in the end took the lady’s card to contact in the future.  I was on the lookout for a dream catcher, but didn’t see anything that looked natural.  The ones for sale had bright pink, purple or blue feathers.

At grandparents being spooky.

At grandparents being spooky.

Gazing into the future

Gazing into the future

Riding in a golf cart...someone's looking older

Riding in a golf cart…someone’s looking older

photo 4

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ben snapped this photo for me, I thought they looked very dapper.

Ben snapped this photo for me, I thought they looked very dapper.

So tempted to buy some of these, but something else caught my eye.

So tempted to buy some of these, but something else caught my eye.

Thought about getting one of these too.  I like the plaid one, but passed in the end.

Thought about getting one of these too. I like the plaid one, but passed in the end.

Early morning crowd.

Early morning crowd.

Saw some nice Leslie Cope  works.  This booth also had the gas masks.  I was checking out the artwork and Ben was in survival mode.

Saw some nice Leslie Cope works. This booth also had the gas masks. I was checking out the artwork and Ben was in survival mode.

This was Vita's main purchase a cat head...

This was Vita’s main purchase a black cat head…it reminded her of Georgie

Tomorrow I will show what I did end up buying.

One thought on “A Party and the Thornville Country Fair

Leave a Reply

