Dreaming of Fall

I despise this weather.  Summer is my least favorite of the seasons.  I hate the fact that the garden is bone dry and yet I am soaked in sweat.  I long for apple picking, pumpkin carving and even the christmas carols that start in November.  I have tried to appreciate it more, I really have, but I dream about cool days and light jackets.  I look forward to the day when the sun is a bonus on a chilly day as opposed to a constant, blistering ball in the sky.  In order to hurry summer along I have started knitting again, washing winter quilts in preparation and making soups and stews…this past weekend I made such a dish.  It is easy and can be made with whatever vegetables you have on hand.  First, we heat olive oil, one whole, sliced red onion, and 2-3 cloves of minced garlic, until brown.  We add 8 cups of vegetable broth and bring to a boil.  After boiling add equal parts potatoes and carrots.  From here you can get creative.  We add one red pepper (cut in big slices so certain little ones can pick out), corn, and herbamare.  You could also add meat, Ben is vegetarian so we leave it out.    Lower the heat and cook until potatoes are done.

olive oil, red onion and garlic

Ben makes fun of me – when I cut vegetables I raise my pinkie as if I am having tea.

Equal parts carrots and potatoes

Add extra- we do red pepper and corn- see Ben keeps his pinkie down

mix all together and turn heat on low

Let simmer until the potatoes are cooked

We also made gluten-free cornbread for dipping.

There is nothing better than corn bread slathered with butter.

This is a great cold weather meal.  Now I just need the cold weather…

2 thoughts on “Dreaming of Fall

Leave a Reply

